SoFine Mexican Chili (Delhaize)

sofine mexican chiliSome days you’re just too tired to cook (or like now, it’s too hot to cook) and at times like that, I’ve always wished there were more ready-made vegan meals on the market. So I was excited to try this SoFine Mexican Chili I stumbled on in the “vegan meat” section of the Delhaize recently. You can warm it up in 4-5 minutes in a pan or in the microwave and serve it as you like with rice, in a wrap, with tortilla chips, whatever strikes your fancy.

I ate mine over whole wheat mini-macaroni, and grated  some Strong Cheddar Sheese over the top. This was surprisingly good. I do like my chili spicier than a lot of people so I found it a bit mild and sprinkled it liberally with Tabasco to give it an extra kick, but other than that, it was quite flavorful! I would definitely buy this again, and I see on their Dutch website that they also have an Indonesian Saté with the vegan logo on it (the Thai Curry on the same page looks like it’s vegetarian, but not vegan), so I hope that the Saté will also be available in Belgium soon.

So far, I’ve only ever seen this at the Delhaize and a quick look at the websites of other supermarkets leads me to think it might only be available there for the moment.

2 thoughts on “SoFine Mexican Chili (Delhaize)

  1. Alexandra says:

    Hi, thank you for this post and giving your thoughts about the Mexican Chili of SoFine. Good to read you liked it and made a lovely meal out of it. And ofcourse you can always spice it up a bit with Tabasco 😀

    Like

    • sporkbill says:

      Hi Alexandra! Thanks for your comment! It would be really great to see more of the SoFine products become vegan friendly! 🙂 There’s a bunch of them I would love to try if the recipes were tweaked to remove the egg or dairy!

      Like

Leave a Reply

