Conscious Chocolates

conscious chocolatesI’m not really a raw-food type of gal. For me, veganism is about the animals, and the animals don’t care if I eat my broccoli raw, steamed, or stir-fried. So I’ve generally ignored the raw chocolates that have been popping up here and there in health-food land. Why would I pay so much more for raw chocolate when there’s plenty of affordable vegan chocolate out there.

So I kind of surprised myself when I grabbed a bar of Conscious chocolate as an impulse purchase while waiting to pay at the health food store. And because there were Vego Bars in the house, it took me a while to get around to trying it. Well I finally tried it and was really pleasantly surprised. The chocolate is soft, more fudge-like than bar-like (although they’re shaped into bars), and a really pleasant texture, with pronounced flavors. I’ve since tried a few more flavors, including the orange, mint, and “intense” (not pictured here). The mint in particular is really… well, minty. The only downside is that because they’re so soft, it can be somewhat messy eating them, especially when it’s warm out. It’s hard to break off a piece because they just melt in your fingers and bend rather than break.

I don’t think I’ll be buying these every day, but they are nice for an occasional treat, when I’m craving an intense chocolate experience. I’ve only ever seen these in health food stores.

4 thoughts on “Conscious Chocolates

Leave a Reply

