AH Basic Duospread (Albert Heijn)

ah basic duo spreadFor years, the only thing I ever ate for breakfast was two slices of brown bread with peanut butter. Then I moved to Belgium and found myself going too quickly through the small jars of peanut butter that they sell here and I decided to mix it up a bit. Now I eat oatmeal (with peanut butter, of course) or cereal on the weekdays, and a bagel with Wilmersburger or Tofutti cream cheese on the weekends. But sometimes I want a change from my routine, so I was curious to try out this Duospread from Albert Heijn’s “Basic” selection.

This is one of those things that folks in Belgium and the Netherlands grew up eating, but I’d actually never had it before. As far as sweet bread spreads go, I’d only ever tried straight up chocolate spread or choco-hazelnut spread. Compared to those, this was incredibly sweet, even sweeter than I was expecting. Mr. VSiB and I had a discussion about how to eat this: do you spread it so the brown and white mix, or do you keep them separate?

However you eat this, for me, it will probably stay as a very very very occasional treat. It’s not that I didn’t like it. I’m just not that crazy about eating something this sweet for breakfast.

This is only available at Albert Heijn.

Leave a Reply

