Kühne Shallot and Lime Dressing (Albert Heijn)

kuhne lime and shallot dressing

Update: It looks like the Albert Heijn may have stopped carrying this product. 😦  Keep an eye out in the bargain bins and you might be lucky enough to get one of the last bottles.

It’s been years since I bought a store-bought salad dressing. Even before going vegan, it just never seemed necessary. To be honest, I rarely make a straight-up salad, and when I do, I usually make my own vinaigrette with olive oil, balsamic vinegar, and a bit of mustard, or if I want a creamy dressing, use a bit of veganaise mixed with ketchup and spices. But when I heard rumors of a dressing being sold at the Albert Heijn that actually had the Vegan Trademark from the Vegan Society, I knew I had to try it.

I’m really glad I did! This creamy dressing from the German food company Kühne is delicious and refreshing! The shallot flavor is present but not overwhelming and the lime just gives it an extra kick of freshness. I’ve only used it in traditional salads until now, but I imagine it would be really good in a pasta or potato salad or as a dip for veggies. I’ll definitely be buying this again when I get the chance.

As far as I know, the only place in Belgium this is being sold at the moment is Albert Heijn, but I’d love to see it pop up at other supermarkets.

Leave a Reply

