Boni Lupine Spread (Colruyt)

boni lupinespreadAnd in my ongoing quest to find every type of vegan sandwich topping out there, I present to you, this hearty lupine spread from the Boni organic line.

I wasn’t sure what to expect of this, if it would be like a bit like hummus or more like the vegan liverwurst I’ve posted about before, but it wasn’t like either. It really is its own species. I had high hope for this. It had a nice spreadable texture although it wasn’t totally smooth like a pâté. Flavorwise, I found it a bit bland, to be honest. It’s supposed to be spicy, and it had a bit of an edge to it from the peppers in it, but it wasn’t as spicy as I had hoped. More importantly, I felt it could have used a bit more salt (unusual for me) and more garlic. That said, I was eating it plain on crackers, so maybe if it was used as a base on bread for veggies and such, that might give it a bit more oomph. I’d definitely buy it again, but maybe layer it with tomato slices or avocado, and add a bit of salt.

Boni is Colruyt’s home brand, and you’ll find this near the veggie meats in their Fresh department.

Leave a Reply

