Peanut butter

peanut butterThis one seemed almost too obvious to write about for me, coming from two peanut-butter-loving nations (the US and Netherlands) as I do, but Mr. VSiB pointed out to me that this vegan option is one that might not be on the radar of lots of people in Belgium, who didn’t grow up eating it.

Despite the name (containing variously “butter” or “cheese” depending on the language), peanut butter is pretty much always vegan, unless someone adds some weird ingredient to it. And not only is it vegan, it’s delicious! I’m completely addicted to the stuff. It’s a good source of protein and other goodies, so it’s a great food for a filling breakfast, spread on toast or mixed into oatmeal. It also can be used in a lot of recipes that call for tahini or other nut/seed butter. It’s great added to a stir fry sauce or for making gado gado. And nowadays, it’s pretty much available at any supermarket (although if you want the BIG economy-sized jars, you’ll have to cross the border to the Netherlands).

The jar pictured here is from the Delhaize, but I’ve bought it at the Colruyt and Albert Heijn as well. You can even get peanut butter at the health food store.

4 thoughts on “Peanut butter

  1. Tine says:

    I used to despise peanut butter (or at least, I thought so, guess I never really gave it a chance). It was only when I started to eat plantbased that I discovered how great it is… And now I am completely addicted, of course 😉

    Like

  2. Anthony says:

    Oh yes peanut butter my favorite thing the world, especially a PB&J sandwich. I use the Calvé Pâte de Cacahuètes/Pindakaas Delhaize is selling it, when i was younger i used to eat the Dekatine one but they stopped selling them in stores.

    Like

  3. Jake says:

    You’re right when you say that peanut butter isn’t exactly a staple good here in Belgium. I remember growing up (in the 90’s) that whenever we drove across the border to the Netherlands, we’d buy a solid amount of peanut butter jars to last us through the coming months. But even nowadays I’m often surprised by how many people my age have never eaten peanut butter in their lives.

    Anyways, thank you for this blog and keep up the great work!

    Like

    • sporkbill says:

      Hi Jake! I just found your comment sitting amongst the comments awaiting approval! Sorry it was hanging in limbo for so long! And thanks for the kind words! Anyway, yeah, it’s funny to me, coming from two peanut-butter-loving countries myself, how it’s considered sort of a fringe product here. I’ve always considered it a staple.

      Like

Leave a Reply

