Syrup of Liège

luikse siroopMost Belgians will already be familiar with this classic fruit spread. For anyone not familiar with it, it’s similar to apple butter, but made primarily from pears combined with other fruit. The ones I’ve found are made of pears combined with apples and dates.

I have to admit that this syrup in its purest form, just spread on bread, is not my cup of tea. (I was never really a fan of apple butter either.) But it’s also often used in traditional recipes, and my awesome friend who writes the awesome blog From Belgium Wit Loof did a whole series of vegan recipes based on Syrup of Liège. I have yet to try any of them, but they look fantastic! (I especially am inspired to try a version of a Ploughman’s lunch with it.)

There are several brands of Syrup of Liège out there, but one brand or another should be pretty much available at any supermarket.

2 thoughts on “Syrup of Liège

  1. Martine says:

    If it is anything like the Dutch appelstroop, I don’t like it on bread either. I like it in my oatmeal with some peanut butter, or on a cracker with peanut butter, or in homemade energy bars with peanut butter… It’s pretty good combined with tahini too. Anyway, combine with nut or seed butter of choice and enjoy 😀

    I should really try some of the wit loof recipes. They look delicious!

    Liked by 1 person

    • sporkbill says:

      I never thought of combining it with peanut butter. I’ll have to give that a try.

      Those recipes do look delicious! I’m going to try to follow some actual recipes this winter instead of just winging it as usual, and I’ll have to give one or two of those a try. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

