He.be Coco Yogu

hebe coco yoguThis is another new product I stumbled upon in the health food store recently. I’ve heard my friends in North America talk about coconut yogurt, but until now the only ones I’d seen here were soy yogurts combined or flavored with coconut. This is the first yogurt I’ve found that is completely coconut based.

I wasn’t quite sure what to expect, and still wasn’t sure after the first few bites. It didn’t really taste like yogurt as I was used to, but it did have that probiotic fermented taste. It also tasted, not surprisingly, strongly of coconut. The texture was also thicker than what I think of when I think of yogurt. After my first few hesitant spoonfuls, I found that it started to really grow on me, and by the end I was almost licking the container clean. It’s been a while since I’ve had dairy, so it took me a while to figure out what this reminded me of, but rather than yogurt, I think what it most closely resembles is quark. Coconut flavored quark. I will definitely be buying this again!

So far, I’ve only ever seen this at the health food store.

2 thoughts on “He.be Coco Yogu

  1. Jojo says:

    That’s exactly how I felt when I first tried coconut yoghurt!! My favourite brand in the UK is The Coconut Collaborative and I think that it most reminds me of the Greek yoghurt I used to love in my pre-vegan days.

    Like

    • sporkbill says:

      Oh! So it’s not just this particular brand? Coconut yogurts tend to be thicker? I went back to the HFS and it was gone and I was sad. I hope they get it back in because I really want it again!

      Like

Leave a Reply

