Vegecheese Almond Cheese

vegecheeseI’m always excited to try new vegan cheeses, so I was excited to stumble upon this almond based cheese at the local health food store recently. I’ve never had (to my knowledge) a cheese made from almond milk before, so I was curious.

It’s interesting. I’m still not sure what I think of it. It’s grey color is a bit unappealing, but I tried not to let that influence me. Although these were slices, I found the cheese very soft. It’s hard to get a single slice out because it tends to not hold together. It feels almost like someone tried to force a spreadable cheese into slice form. But, of course, the most important factor is the taste. I found it to be oddly sweet, and not exactly what I expect from a cheese. I guess that makes sense, as almonds do have a natural sweetness to them. It was ok combined with other items on bread, but I don’t think I’d eat it on its own on a cracker.

That said, it’s great to see more and more companies expanding into the vegan cheese market, and trying out new ways of making vegan cheese. And as I’ve discovered, tastes in vegan cheeses vary widely, so if you find this, I would definitely recommend trying it! It might just be right up your alley.

I’ve only ever seen this at my local health food store, so I’m guessing this is mainly being sold at health food stores, and maybe vegan specialty stores.

Leave a Reply

