Agave Syrup

agaveThe last thing I gave up when going vegan was not cheese (as it is with many people) but honey. My morning fix had always been a cup of strong black tea with honey and I couldn’t imagine giving that up. (Plus, I had quite a stockpile of different honeys to get through before they were out of my kitchen.)

When I finally tried agave syrup, it was a slight taste adjustment. It’s not exactly like honey; it’s somewhat sweeter, and oddly slightly more… astringent, for lack of a better word, but I’ve grown to like it quite a bit.

Now it’s become my go-to liquid sweetener. I use it every day in my tea, and also drizzle it on my oatmeal. I also sometimes reach for it and add a small dollop of it to savory dishes that need an edge of sweetness, like stir-fries and Thai curries (although you have to be careful not to use too much because it really is quite sweet!)

This is one of those products that is available in the “healthy food” section of supermarkets, but price-wise you’re better off buying it at the health food store.

Leave a Reply

