Kan Tong Sweet and Sour Sauce (Aldi)

kan tong zoetzure sausMr. VSiB recently ran across this accidentally-vegan, jarred sauce at the Aldi and brought it home for me. I’ll confess, sweet and sour dishes are not generally the flavor profiles I gravitate towards when eating Chinese (or Americanized/Europeanized Chinese) food. I tend to go more for things with a spicy bent. But there’s no way I’m going to turn down trying out a new (to me) accidentally vegan product, especially one that is so easy to use, and I was pleasantly surprised at how good it was and what a satisfying meal it made.

I made this using the Vegetarische Slager chicken pieces I wrote about earlier this week, but I bet it would work well with tofu, tempeh, or even eggplant! All you have to do is brown your vegan chicken/tofu/tempeh/eggplant in the pan for a few minutes, add the sauce, cook on low/medium heat for five more minutes and serve over rice. Easy peasy, and perfect for a quick weeknight meal! And it’s free from palm, soy, and any dubious e-numbers. (The ingredients are basically vegetables, water, sugar, vinegar, pineapple, cornstarch, salt, and spices, with paprika extract as a coloring agent.)

A Google search tells me that Kan Tong is an Australian company that makes a range of Asian inspired products, but this is the only one I’ve ever seen here, and only at the Aldi.

2 thoughts on “Kan Tong Sweet and Sour Sauce (Aldi)

  1. Mar Boot says:

    I make this week the sweet-sure saus from Kan Tong open..and warm it up. When i was it eat it there was big piece of plastic in mine mouth!

    ** So i never will buy Kan Tong anymore !!

    Like

Leave a Reply

