Prosain Tofu and Basil Ravioli

prosain ravioliWhen I went vegan, the thing I missed most wasn’t cheese, or egg, or meat, or fish, or any animal product really. What I missed the most was convenience. Convenience food is just not as readily available for vegans as it is for non-vegans, at least in this area of the world. I can’t help but watch jealously as vegans on the other side of the Atlantic enjoy their frozen pizzas and Amy’s soups. But I always keep my eyes open for convenient options over here.

A few weeks ago, I stumbled on a display of products from ProSain Organics at the health food store, and there, in amongst the jars of sauces and preserves was a jar of vegan pre-made ravioli! I haven’t had pre-made ravioli since I was a kid and my mom would pop open a can of Chef Boyardee mini raviolis for my sister and I when she and my dad were going out to dinner. So I couldn’t resist.

I tried it a few nights later after a long day at work.This stuff is not bad! The pasta and filling were really nice, but I found the sauce a little sweet for my liking. I added some broccoli to fill it out and some nutritional yeast to give it a more savory bite, and I sprinkled some Wilmersburger pizza cheese on it to finish it off. So, for my taste, it needs a little tweaking to be perfect, but it really is incredibly convenient and fast, so I will definitely get it again. Oh, and the jar was huge, so it’ll do you for three small meals or two big ones.

The only place I’ve seen this has been at the health food store.

One thought on “Prosain Tofu and Basil Ravioli

Leave a Reply

