Jacques chocolate bars with filling

_jacquesAs much as I love plain dark chocolate, sometimes it’s nice to have a little variety. That’s where these Jacques chocolate bars with flavored fillings come in. Oddly, not all of the other varieties of Jacques dark chocolate is vegan (sometimes containing butter fat) but both the dark chocolate and the filling on most of these bars are.

I haven’t checked all of the flavors, but I have checked the three pictured here (Pistachio, Banana, and Cranberry & Orange), and the Raspberry and Vanilla ones (not pictured here) and they all appear to be vegan. If I recall, I’ve only run across one that had a questionable ingredient (the Panache, I think, due to an animal based food colorant). [Update: the Panache is vegan! See comments below.] As always, double check the ingredients because companies do change formulation, but check these out when you’re next in the mood for something sweet! You may even discover a vegan flavor I have neglected.

The chocolate on these is top notch, but I sometimes find the filling a bit too sweet for my taste. Still, it’s nice for a change of pace, and it’s a nice chocolate to bring to share.

These are available at pretty much any supermarket that sells name-brand products.

4 thoughts on “Jacques chocolate bars with filling

  1. Ralf says:

    The panaché is vegan – at least it was in 2016 and now again in 2017 (I travel to Mechelen once a year). The colourant is paprika extract. There are flavourings listed but I am assuming they are vegan,

    Like

    • sporkbill says:

      Thanks, Ralf! I just checked the ingredients again online and you’re right. I don’t know what I saw when I last checked that made me think it wasn’t vegan. I appreciate the info! Will update the post. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

