Violife slices

_violifeVegan cheese has come a long way. Gone are the days of chalky/clammy slices that smell funny and taste “off”. Not only has the quality and taste of vegan cheese improved by leaps and bounds in recent years, but there has been an absolute explosion of the varieties available. Nowadays you can get fancy, cultured, nut milk cheese, spreadable vegan cream cheese, and all sorts of slices and shreds for sandwiches and pizza.

Now I will say that vegan cheese seems to be the great divider in vegan circles. Taste is very subjective, and taste in cheese seems to be doubly so. I’ve been shocked to discover that the vegan Blue that I adore, my friend threw away unfinished, while the European brand that my North American friends clamor for goes moldy in my fridge because I find it tastes like wet chalk. (The lesson here is, if you tried vegan cheese once and didn’t like it, try some other brands. You might be surprised!)

All this is a long-winded way of getting to the subject of this post: Violife slices. Made in Greece, these coconut-based slices are dairy-free (of course), soy-free, palm-oil-free, and gluten-free. And most importantly, they’re delicious! So far, I’ve tried the original, Cheddar, and smoked flavors. I’m particularly partial to the smoked and Cheddar flavors, but they’re all good. (I have yet to try the Mozzarella ones pictured above.) They’re great on a sandwich, and melt wonderfully on a bagel. They also make pizza cheese, but I haven’t tried that yet either. When I do, I’ll come back to review it.

So far, I’ve only found this at vegan specialty stores or online. This most recent batch was bought at Vegasme.

4 thoughts on “Violife slices

Leave a Reply

